Home | What's New | Library Catalog | Personal Account | Library Information | Internet Sites | Electronic Resources
Programs & News | Contact Us | For Readers | Fiction | Kids & Teens | Reference & Nonfiction | Videos, CDs, Cassettes
Hours & Locations | Friends | Foundation | Gift Shop | A to Z Index

Electronic Resources
Top line

Also: Databases for Kids & Teens

Electronic Library for Minnesota logo

Some of these resources are part of ELM, the Electronic Library for Minnesota, and paid for by the state of Minnesota. Look for the ELM logo.

PLEASE NOTE: Some of these resources are available only to Duluth Public Library cardholders.

 

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoAcademic Search Premier - the world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, this source provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Updated daily. Beginning 1/1/05, the minimum browser requirements for this database are: Windows: Netscape 7.x, Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5. Macintosh: Safari 1.2x or Netscape 7.x. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

America's News Magazines - 26 popular magazines bring you news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology information from sources such as Time, Newsweek, Fortune, Money, People and Entertainment Weekly. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Duluth Library Foundation.

Ancestry Library Edition - Provides access to U.S. Federal Census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage and military records, family and local history collections, and more. Available at the Library only. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth.

Biography Clipping File Index - a list of people about whom the Duluth Public Library keeps a file of information, mostly newspaper clippings. The focus of the collection is people who have influenced the culture and history of Duluth, the Arrowhead region or Minnesota. This is only a list of names. The files of information for the people listed are available at the Main Library. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.

Biography Resource Center - biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies and includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoBusiness Source Premier - the world’s largest full text business database, covering virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated daily. Beginning 1/1/05, the minimum browser requirements for this database are: Windows: Netscape 7.x, Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5. Macintosh: Safari 1.2x or Netscape 7.x. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

Contemporary Authors - no longer available as a separate resource. Information from Contemporary Authors is included in Biography Resource Center.

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoDiscovering Collection - Use this comprehensive database to find in-depth reference material on Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

Duluth News Tribune/Newsbank - A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Covers 11/1995 - present. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Duluth Library Foundation.

Duluth Newspaper Index - A subject index to articles of regional (northeastern Minnesota and northwestern Wisconsin) interest that were published in the Duluth News-Tribune and the Duluth Herald. Choose from articles published from 1893-1929 or from 1988-1995. Information on purchasing photocopies of articles is included. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.  

EBSCO MegaFile - Search four databases at once: Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business Index. This multi-disciplinary resource provides full text for more than 15,000 total publications, and indexing and abstracting for more than 19,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 84,000 biographies, 83,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an Image Collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

Encyclopedia Americana - 45,000 articles that cover all academic fields and curriculum topics. Updated quarterly. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia - 39,000 articles, extensive links within articles, booklists and links to other sources of information on the Web. Updated monthly. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.

Grolier OnLine - Contains Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, The New Book of Popular Science, Lands and Peoples, and America the Beautiful. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.

HeritageQuest - Provides access to over 25,000 digitized books containing family and local histories from around the country, the PERSI™ index to genealogy and local history periodicals, many U.S. Census records, and select Revolutionary War era pension and grant records. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth.

How Do I Contact? - a list of elected and appointed Federal, State, County and City officials. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoInforme - A collection of hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoMasterFILE Premier - Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,050 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, it also includes more than 350 full text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,132 primary source documents, and an Image collection of over 100,000 photos, maps and flags. Updated daily. Beginning 1/1/05, the minimum browser requirements for this database are: Windows: Netscape 7.x, Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5. Macintosh: Safari 1.2x or Netscape 7.x. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

Minneapolis StarTribune/Newsbank - A searchable archive of the Minneapolis Star-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Covers 1986 - present. Subscription provided by the Friends of the Duluth Public Library and the City of Duluth.

Minnesota Newspapers - Search full-text of the Duluth News-Tribune, Minneapolis Star-Tribune, St. Cloud Times, and the St. Paul Pioneer Press newspapers.Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Duluth Library Foundation.

MnLink - search this statewide virtual library that links you to all of Minnesota public and academic libraries' catalogs, magazine and newspaper databases, and more. Use MnLink to request items not owned by the Duluth Public Library. How to use MnLink.

Electronic Library for Minnesota logonetLibrary - a collection of e-books (electronic versions of printed books). Read one on-line or "check it out" for 3 hours at a time. See "More about e-books." This e-book collection includes popular interest areas such as computer how-to, reference, travel and personal finance. On your first visit to netLibrary, you need to create an account. The account is free and signup only takes a short time. Click for a demonstration of how e-books work. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

Novelist - look for recommendations of books to read, by matching favorite authors or plots or by browsing lists of subjects and awards. The minimum browser requirements for this database are: Windows: Netscape 7.x, Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5. Macintosh: Safari 1.2x or Netscape 7.x. Subscription provided by the Arrowhead Library System.

Obituary Index - names and dates for obituaries printed in the Duluth News-Tribune and Duluth Herald newspapers. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoProfessional Collection - balanced coverage for educators in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training. Updated daily. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoProQuest Newsstand Complete - a full-text database of over 350 newspapers from around the world. Access a wide range of articles, not only top news stories, but arts, sports, and entertainment stories as well. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoRegional Business News - comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily. Beginning 1/1/05, the minimum browser requirements for this database are: Windows: Netscape 7.x, Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5. Macintosh: Safari 1.2x or Netscape 7.x. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

ReferenceUSA - Contains detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. Business data is gathered from trade publications, annual reports, SEC data and others, while residential data is taken directly from telephone white pages and U.S. Census data. Subscription provided by the the City of Duluth. NEW!

Regional Magazine Index - a guide to articles of regional interest that appeared in area publications. Information on purchasing photocopies of articles is included. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.

St. Cloud Times/Newsbank - a searchable archive of the St. Cloud Times newspaper, with complete full-text content. Covers 1999 - present. Subscription provided by the Friends of the Duluth Public Library and the City of Duluth.

St Paul Pioneer Press/Newsbank - a searchable archive of the St. Paul Pioneer Press, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Covers 1988 - present. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Duluth Library Foundation.

War Casualties and P.O.W.s - an index to information published in Duluth newspapers on some of the military personnel from the Duluth area who were killed or captured during World War II and the Korean War. Information on purchasing photocopies of articles is included. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.

Electronic Library for Minnesota logoWorldCat - "The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 70 million bibliographic records." Includes holdings information from the world's libraries. PLEASE NOTE: WorldCat is no longer used to place interlibrary loan requests. Use MnLink to request materials from other libraries. How to use MnLink. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.

 

Top of page

11/28/06
Duluth Public Library, 520 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55802

Bottom line