Home | What's New | Library Catalog | Personal Account | Library Information | Internet Sites | Electronic Resources
Programs & News | Contact Us | For Readers | Fiction | Kids & Teens | Reference & Nonfiction | Movies & Music | Downloadable Books
Hours & Locations | Friends | Foundation | Gift Shop | A to Z Index

City Government
Top line

Mayor and Administrative Assistant | City Councilors |
Administrative Department Heads | City Offices | School Board

City of Duluth website: www.duluthmn.gov

You'll receive a message when this page is updated.

To find your city district and precinct, go to the Duluth Polling Place Finder or the Minnesota Polling Place Finder , or call the Duluth City Clerk's Office (730-5500), the Duluth Public Library (730-4200/option 5) (inside Duluth) or St. Louis County Voter Registration (726-2385) (outside Duluth).

Designations for officials:
(e) = elected officials
(a) = appointed officials

Numbers in parentheses (2002) indicate the year that an elected official stands for re-election. The terms usually end in January of the following year.

City of Duluth Officials


Mayor - Don Ness  (e, 4 year term)  (2015)
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 403
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5230  fax: 218-730-5924
email:  
dness@duluthmn.gov

Chief Administrative Officer
- David Montgomery
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5370  fax: 218-730-5904
email: 
dmontgomery@duluthmn.gov

Chief Financial Officer - Peg Spehar
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 106
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5044  fax: 218-730-5919
email: 
pspehar@duluthmn.gov

City Attorney - Gunnar Johnson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 410
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5490  fax: 218-730-5918
email:  
gjohnson@duluthmn.gov

Performance Management, Customer Service & Innovation Director - vacant



City Council (e)

330 City Hall
Duluth, MN 55802
Web:
www.duluthmn.gov/clerk/council
e-mail:
council@duluthmn.gov  (to e-mail all councilors at once)


Patrick Boyle - Councilor (2013)  (President)
2nd Council District; Precincts 8-13
2201 E. 1st St.
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-728-4185  fax: 218-730-5923
email: 
pboyle@duluthmn.gov

Jay Fosle - Councilor (2015)
5th Council District; Precincts 30-36
323  103rd Ave. W.
Duluth, MN 55808
tel: 218-626-3584 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email:
jfosle@duluthmn.gov

Sharla Gardner - Councilor (2015)
3rd Council District; Precincts 14-22
330 City Hall
411 W. 1st St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-530-5353 (w)  fax: 218-730-5923
email:
sgardner@duluthmn.gov

Dan Hartman - Councilor (2013)  
Councilor at large; Precincts 1-36
1005 E. 10th St.
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-310-5356  fax: 218-730-5923
email:
dhartman@duluthmn.gov

Jennifer Julsrud - Councilor (2015)
1st Council District; Precincts 1-7
920 Woodlawn St.
Duluth, MN 55804
tel: 218-525-2409 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email:
jjulsrud@duluthmn.gov

Garry Krause - Councilor (2015)
4th Council District; Precincts 23-29
1220 Stanford Ave.
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 218727-2790 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: 
gkrause@duluthmn.gov

Linda Krug - Councilor (2015)  (Vice President)
Councilor at Large; Precincts 1-36
P.O. Box 92
Duluth, MN 55801
tel: 218-206-9903 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: 
lkrug@duluthmn.gov

Emily Larson - Councilor (2015)
Councilor at Large; Precincts 1-36
1331 E. 11th St.
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-310-1628 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email:
elarson@duluthmn.gov

Jim Stauber - Councilor (2013)
Councilor at large, Precincts 1-36
130 Carlisle Avenue
Duluth, MN  55803
tel: 218-724-1768 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: 
jstauber@duluthmn.gov

 


Jeffrey Cox, City Clerk - Secretary of Council
330 City Hall
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5740  fax: 218-730-5923
web:
www.duluthmn.gov/clerk/index.cfm
email: jcox@duluthmn.gov


Administrative Department Heads (a)

City of Duluth website: www.duluthmn.gov

Business and Community Development - Christopher Eng
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5310  fax: 218-730-5904
email:
 ceng@duluthmn.gov

Chief Information Officer (MIS) - (vacant)
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210A
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5170  fax: 218-730-5916
email:  

Finance - Peg Spehar
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 106
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5044  fax: 218-730-5919
email: 
pspehar@duluthmn.gov

Fire Department - John Strongitharm, Chief  
#1 Firehall
602 W. 2nd St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4390  fax: 218-723-3282
email:  
jstrongitharm@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/fire/index.cfm

Police Department - Gordon Ramsay, Chief  
2030 N. Arlington Ave.
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 218-730-5020  fax: 218-730-5910
email:  
gramsay@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/police/index.cfm

Public Administration - Roshanda Smiley
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 322
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5319  fax: 218-730-5904
email: 
rsmiley@duluthmn.gov

Public Works and Utilities - Jim Benning
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 200
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5105  fax: 218-730-5907
email:  
jbenning@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.comfortsystems.ws


City Offices (a)

City Hall Information - 730-5000



Assessor - moved to County Office

Auditor - Wayne Parson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 107
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5450  fax: 218-730-5919
email:  
wparson@duluthmn.gov

Budget Manager - Peggy Spehar
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5460  fax: 218-730-5919
email:  
pspehar@duluthmn.gov

Building Official - John Gulland
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5163  fax: 218-730-5901
email:  
jgulland@duluthmn.gov

Building Safety - Bryan Bushey (Division Manager)
#1 Firehall
602 W. 2nd St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4393  fax: 218-723-3282
email:  
bbushey@duluthmn.gov

Business Resources - Heidi Timm-Bijold
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5324  fax: 218-730-5904
email:  
HTIMM@duluthmn.gov

City Clerk - Jeffrey Cox
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 330
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5740  fax: 218-730-5923
web:
www.duluthmn.gov/clerk/index.cfm
email: jcox@duluthmn.gov

City Engineer - Cindy Voigt
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 202
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5071  fax: 218-730-5907
email:  
cvoigt@duluthmn.gov

Community Development - Keith Hamre
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 407
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5480  fax: 218-730-5915
email:  
khamre@duluthmn.gov

Human Resources - Audra Flanagan
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 313
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5210  fax: 218-730-5906
email:  
aflanagan@duluthmn.gov

Human Rights Officer - Bob Grytdahl
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 410
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-730-5630  fax: 218-730-5918  
email:  
bgrytdahl@duluthmn.gov

Libraries - Carla Powers
Main Library
520 W. Superior St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-7
30-4225  fax: 218-723-3822
email: 
 cpowers@duluth.lib.mn.us
web:  www.duluth.lib.mn.us

Maintenance Operations - Kelly Fleissner
4825 Mike Colalillo Dr.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-730-4491 fax: 218-723-3593
email:  
kfleissner@duluthmn.gov

Parks and Recreation - Kathy Bergen
411 W. 1st St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4309
email:  
kbergen@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/parks/index.cfm

Planning - Keith Hamre, interim
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel:
218-730-5580  fax: 218-730-5904
email:  
khamre@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/planning/index.cfm

Purchasing Agent - Dennis Sears
100 City Hall
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5340  fax: 218-730-5921
email:  
dsears@duluthmn.gov

Treasurer - Brian Hansen
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 105
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5054  fax: 218-730-5917
email:
bhansen@duluthmn.gov

Workforce Development - Don Hoag
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 332
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5770  fax: 218-730-5952
email:
dhoag@duluthmn.gov

Branch Libraries and City Authorities

Branch Libraries:

West Duluth Branch Library
5830 Grand Ave.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-7
30-4280

Mount Royal Branch Library

105 Mt. Royal Shopping Circle
Duluth, MN 55803
tel: 218-7
30-4290

Duluth Airport Authority
Thomas Werner, Executive Director
4701 Grinden Dr.
Duluth International Airport
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 727-2968  fax: 727-2960
email:  
daa@duluthairport.com
web:  www.duluthairport.com

Duluth Economic Development Authorita (DEDA)
Christopher Eng
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5310  fax: 218-730-5904
email: 
ceng@duluthmn.gov

Duluth Entertainment Convention Center
Dan Russell, Executive Director
350 Harbor Dr.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 722-5573 x203  fax: 722-4247
email:  
drussell@decc.org
web: www.decc.org   or    www.duluthconventioncenter.com

Duluth Transit Authority
Dennis E. Jensen, General Manager
2402 W. Michigan St.
Duluth, MN 55806
tel: 218-722-4426  fax: 218-722-4428
email:  djensen@duluthtransit.com
web:  www.duluthtransit.com

Housing & Redevelopment Authority
Richard W. Ball, Executive Director
222 E. 2nd St.
P.O. Box 16900
Duluth, MN 55816-0900
tel: 218-529-6300  fax: 218-529-6344  tdd:  218-529-6321
email:  
info@duluthhousing.com
web:  www.duluthhousing.com

Seaway Port Authority
Adolph N. Ojard, Executive Director
1200 Port Terminal Dr.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-727-8525   fax: 218-727-6888
email:  
aojard@duluthport.com
web: www.duluthport.com

Spirit Mountain Recreation Area
Rene Mattson, Executive Director
9500 Spirit Mtn. Place
Duluth, MN 55810
tel: 218-628-2891  fax: 218-624-0213
toll free:
800-642-6377
email:  
rene@spiritmt.com
web: http://www.spiritmt.com

 

Independent School District #709

ISD #709 home page : www.duluth.k12.mn.us

Historic Old Central High School (Central Administration Building)
215 N. 1st Ave. E.
Duluth, MN 55802
218-336-8700


Superintendent of Schools
- William Gronseth (a)
tel: 218-336-8752  fax: 218-336-8773
email:
 william.gronseth@duluth.k12.mn.us

Assistant Superintendent - Ed Crawford (a)
tel: 218-336-8739  fax: 218-336-8776
email:
 eddie.crawford@duluth.k12.mn.us

Chief Financial Officer (includes Human Resources) - Bill C. Hanson (a)
tel:
218-336-8704  fax: 218-7336-8773
email:  
bill.hanson@duluth.k12.mn.us

Director of Special Services
- Laura Fredrickson (a)
tel: 218-336-8740  fax: 218-336-8775
email:  
laura.fredrickson@duluth.k12.mn.us

Media & Technology Coordinator - Keith Anderson (a)
tel: 218-336-8754  fax: 218-337-8772
email:  
keith.anderson@duluth.k12.mn.us


DULUTH SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS (e - four year terms)

To find your school board district, call the School Board (336-8752), the Duluth City Clerk's Office (730-5500) or the Duluth Public Library (730-4200/option 5).

To email all board members at once: schoolboard@duluth.k12.mn.us


Mary Cameron - (At Large, 2013)
(District includes Duluth precincts 1-30, 32-34*)
115 E. 5th St.
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-341-8893  fax: 218-336-8773
email:  
mary.cameron@duluth.k12.mn.us

Art Johnston - (4th District, 2013)
(District includes Duluth precincts 21, 26-30, 32-34*)
37 N. 93rd Ave. W.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-626-1997  fax: 218-336-8773
email:  
arthur.johnston@duluth.k12.mn.us

Tom Kasper - (At Large, 2013)   (Chair)
(District includes Duluth precincts 1-30, 32-34*)
3725 Greysolon Rd.
Duluth, MN 55804
tel: 218-724-4921  fax: 218-336-8773
email:
thomas.kasper@duluth.k12.mn.us

Mike Miernicki - (At Large, 2015)
(District includes Duluth precincts 1-30, 32-34*)
1415 Minneapolis Ave.
Duluth, MN 55803
tel: 218-728-4604  fax: 218-336-8773
email:
michael.miernick@duluth.k12.mn.us

Judy Seliga-Punyko - (2nd District, 2015)
(District includes Duluth precincts 3, 8-14)
1125 N. 40th Ave. E.
Duluth, MN 55804
tel: 218-525-4688  fax: 218-336-8773
email:
judy.seligapunkyo@duluth.k12.mn.us

Ann Wasson - (1st District, 2013)  (Chair)
(District includes Duluth precincts 1, 2, 4-7 & outside city limits)
1715 Lakeview Dr.
Duluth, MN 55803
tel: 218-728-1931  fax: 218-336-8773
email:
ann.wasson@duluth.k12.mn.us

William L. Westholm - (3rd District, 2015)  (Vice Chair)
(District includes Duluth precincts 15-20, 22-25)
2908 Talmadge Circle
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 218-727-3371  fax: 218-336-8773
email:
william.westholm@duluth.k12.mn.us

 

* Precinct 33 is in ISD #704 (Proctor)

5/1/13
Duluth Public Library, 520 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55802

Bottom Line