|
GENERAL INFORMATION / ENCYCLOPEDIAS |
NEWSPAPERS
|
MAGAZINE INDEXES
|
|
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION (PEOPLE) |
GEOGRAPHY |
SCIENCE |
|
BOOKS |
GOVERNMENT |
. |
Amazing Animals of the World - Covers mammals, birds, fish, reptiles, amphibians, arthropods and other invertebrates. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.
America the Beautiful - Covers all 50 states, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, and major U.S. territories, with in-depth information on history, geography, economics, government, culture, and cities. Includes fact boxes, biographical profiles, photographs, and interactive maps. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.
Biography Clipping File Index - a list of people about whom the Duluth Public Library keeps a file of information, mostly newspaper clippings. The focus of the collection is people who have influenced the culture and history of Duluth, the Arrowhead region or Minnesota. This is only a list of names. The files of information for the people listed are available at the Main Library. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
Biography Resource Center - Contains information on people from all around the world, both past and present. Includes short biographies, magazine-length articles, websites, and lists of books and other resources. Information can be printed or e-mailed to your home computer. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Arrowhead Library System.
Britannica
Online: Kids Edition - A separate homepage for children with
age-appropriate encyclopedia content.
Britannica
Online: School Edition - Provides access to four encyclopedias
that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate
language. Designed for all levels of learning K-12. For PreK-12,
look for the Britannica Learning Zone.
CultureGrams - concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations -- from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, and U.S. states. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth. NEW
Discovering
Collection - Use this comprehensive database to find in-depth
reference material on Literature, History, Biographies, Science,
and Social Studies. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for
Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Duluth News Tribune/Newsbank - A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Covers 11/1995 - present. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth.
Duluth Newspaper Index - A subject index to articles of regional (northeastern Minnesota and northwestern Wisconsin) interest that were published in the Duluth News-Tribune and the Duluth Herald. Choose from articles published from 1893-1929 or from 1988-1995. Information on purchasing photocopies of articles is included. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
Encyclopedia Americana - A comprehensive, in-depth source of current information on almost any topic, at an adult reading level. Includes links to resources on the Web. Updated quarterly. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia - Search by category or keyword for information on almost any topic. Includes links to magazine articles and web sites. Articles often include pictures and graphics. Information can be printed or e-mailed to your home computer. Updated monthly. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.
Grolier OnLine - Contains Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, The New Book of Popular Science, Lands and Peoples, and America the Beautiful. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.
How Do I Contact? - a list of elected and appointed Federal, State, County and City officials. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
Infotrac for Kids - Search magazines, newspapers, and reference books
for maps and information on current events, art, science, popular
culture, health, people, government, history, sports, etc. Articles
can be printed or e-mailed to your home computer. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Junior Reference Collection - This database
allows you to search encyclopedias and dictionaries for information
on people, places, and events. Includes a multimedia gallery with
pictures, videos, maps, and audio resources. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Lands and Peoples - Encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events geared to students. Includes sections on each country's land, people, economy, history, and government, as well as a Facts and Figures box and a full-color map. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.
MAS
Ultra-School Edition - Specifically for high school students,
this database contains full text for popular, high school magazines,
biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps and flags,
and reference books. All full-text articles are assigned a reading
level indicator (Lexiles).
Middle
Search Plus - Contains full text for more than 140 popular
middle school magazines, biographies and historical essays, primary
source documents, and reference books. An image collection of
over 400,000 photos, maps, and flags is also included.
MnLink - search this statewide virtual library that links you to all of Minnesota public and academic libraries' catalogs, magazine and newspaper databases, and more. Use MnLink to request items not owned by the Duluth Public Library. How to use MnLink.
netLibrary
- a collection of e-books (electronic versions of printed books).
Read one on-line or "check it out" for 3 hours at a
time. See "More
about e-books." This e-book collection includes materials
such as computer how-to, reference, careers and social studies
materials. On your first visit to netLibrary, you need to create
an account. The account is free and signup only takes a short
time. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription
provided by the State of Minnesota.
New Book of Knowledge - For elementary and middle school students. Includes fun-to-read information, projects and experiments, homework help and web links. Also includes a current events section, updated weekly, complete with lesson plans. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.
New Book of Popular Science - The top science encyclopedia for schools and libraries. Updated weekly with lesson plans to help teachers. Includes science games, puzzles, and brain teasers. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth and the Friends of the Duluth Public Library.
Novelist - Looking for something good to read? Novelist lets you search for books by authors, titles, or plots, or by browsing lists of subjects and awards. You can also looks for books that are similar to your favorites. Be sure to click on your age category under "Limit Your Results." Subscription provided by the Arrowhead Library System.
Obituary Index - names and dates for obituaries printed in the Duluth News-Tribune and Duluth Herald newspapers. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
Points
of View Reference Center - Full-text database designed to
provide students with a series of essays that present multiple
sides of over 250 current issues. Recommended for grades 6-12.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Primary
Search - Contains full text for more than 70 popular elementary
school magazines. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota;
subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
ProQuest
Newsstand Complete - A full-text database of over 350 newspapers
from around the world. Find a wide range of articles, not only
top news stories, but arts, sports, and entertainment stories
as well. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription
provided by the State of Minnesota.
Science
Reference Center - Full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias,
reference books, periodicals, and other sources covering the areas
of biology, chemistry, environmental and life sciences, and more.
Each article is correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Scroll down to Lexile Reading Level to select your grade level.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Searchasaurus
- Helps students in grades K-3 to browse and search for content
from the Primary Search database, which includes the full-text
of the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, Funk & Wagnalls
New World Encyclopedia, the EBSCO Encyclopedia of Animals, and
dozens of kid-friendly magazines. Part of ELM/Electronic Library
for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Student
Resource Center Gold - aimed at high school students. Find
primary documents from the American Journey series and millions
of articles from magazines and newspapers; a wealth of award-winning
reference content that includes overview and critical essays;
biographies; multimedia features and much more. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
TumbleBooks - TumbleBooks take existing picture books and add animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. Stories are available in English, Spanish, French and Chinese. There are also book-related puzzles and games and growing collections of chapter books, classic children's books and children's audiobooks. Requires Flash.
World
Almanac/Book of Facts - Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia
and four almanacs. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries,
facts, and statistics. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for
Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
1/4/10
Duluth Public Library, 520 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN