Follow us

Facebook Flickr
YouTube Twitter2

Comments about the
website may be sent to:

Sign up for the library
mailing list

Duluth Public Library
520 W. Superior St.
Duluth, MN 55802

A tax-supported service
of the City of Duluth

City Logo

Theodore Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2006, is given annually to
the author and illustrator of the most distinguished contribution to beginning reader books.

2016 Winner:
Don't Throw It to Mo! by David A. Adler; ill. by Sam Ricks (E  Adler)

Honor Books:
A Pig, a Fox, and a Box by Jonathan Fenske  (E  Fenske)
Supertruck by Stephen Savage ( j Savage)
Waiting by Kevin Henkes  ( j  Henkes)


2015 Winner:
You Are (Not) Small by Anna Kang; ill. by Christopher Weyant ( j  Kang)

Honor Books: 
Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page by Cynthia Rylant; ill. by Arthur Howard (E  Rylant)
Waiting is Not Easy by Mo Willems (E  Willems)

2014 Winner:
The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli ( j  Pizzoli)

Honor Books: 
Ball by Mary Sullivan ( j  Sullivan)
A Big Guy Took My Ball! by Mo Willems (E  Willems)
Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes (E  Henkes)

2013 Winner:
Up, Tall and High by Ethan Long ( j  Long)

Honor Books: 
Let's Go for a Drive! by Mo Willems (E  Willems)
Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons by Eric Litwin ( j  Litwin)
Rabbit & Robot: The Sleepover by Cece Bell (E  Bell)

2012 Winner:
Tales for Very Picky Eaters by Josh Schneider (E  Schneider)

Honor Books:
I Broke My Trunk! by Mo Willems (E  Willems)
I Want My Hat Back by J. Klassen ( j  Klassen)
See Me Run by Paul Meisel (E  Meisel)


2011 Winner:
Bink and Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee
(Juv Fic  DiCamillo)

Honor Books:
Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same by Grace Lin (Juv Fic  Lin)
We Are in a Book! by Mo Willems (E  Willems)


2010 Winner:
Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! by Geoffrey Hayes
(E  Hayes)

Honor Books:
I Spy Fly Guy by Tedd Arnold (E  Arnold)
Little Mouse Gets Ready by Jeff Smith (E  Smith)
Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends by Wong Herbert Yee (E  Yee)
Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day by Kate McMullan, ill. by R. W. Alley (E  McMullan)


2009 Winner:
Are You Ready to Play Outside? by Mo Willems
(E  Willems)

Honor Books:
Chicken Said "Cluck!" by Judyann Ackerman Grant, ill. by Sue Truesdell (E  Grant)
One Boy by Laura Vaccaro Seeger ( j )
Stinky by Eleanor Davis (E  Davis)
Wolfsnail: A Backyard Predator by Sarah C. Campbell, ill. by Sarah C. Campbell and Richard P. Campbell (j594.3  Campbell)


2008 Winner:
There is a Bird on Your Head! by Mo Willems
(E  Willems)

Honor Books:
First the Egg by Laura Vaccaro Seeger ( j )
Hello, Bumblebee Bat by Darrin Lunde; ill. by Patricia J. Wynne (j 599.4  Lunde)
Jazz Baby by Lisa Wheeler, ill. by R. Gregory Christie ( j )
Vulture View by April Pulley Sayre, ill. by Steve Jenkins  (j598.912  Sayre)


2007 Winner:
Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways by Laura McGee Kvasnosky
(E  Kvasnosky)


Honor Books:
Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride by Kate DiCamillo; ill. by Chris Van Dusen (Juv Fic  DiCamillo)
Move Over, Rover! by Karen Beaumont; ill. by Jane Dyer ( j )
Not a Box by Antoinette Portis ( j )

2006 Winner:
Henry and Mudge and the Great Grandpas by Cynthia Rylant
(E  Rylant)

Honor Books:
Hi! Fly Guy by Tedd Arnold (E  Arnold)
A Splendid Friend Indeed by Suzanne Bloom ( j )
Cowgirl Kate and Cocoa by Erica Silverman (E  Silverman)
Amanda Pig and the Really Hot Day by Jean Van Leeuwen (E  Van Leeuwen)
Page Last Modified: 1/12/2016
©2016 Copyright Duluth Public Library. All Rights Reserved.