Follow us

Facebook Flickr
YouTube Twitter2


Comments about the
website may be sent to: 
webmail@duluthmn.gov

Sign up for the library
mailing list

Duluth Public Library
520 W. Superior St.
Duluth, MN 55802
218-730-4200

A tax-supported service
of the City of Duluth

City Logo

City Government

Mayor and Administrative Assistant | City Councilors |
Administrative Department Heads | City Offices | School Board

City of Duluth website: www.duluthmn.gov

Subscribe Button You'll receive a message when this page is updated.

To find your city district and precinct, go to the Duluth Polling Place Finder or the Minnesota Polling Place Finder , or call the Duluth City Clerk's Office (730-5500), the Duluth Public Library (730-4200/option 5) (inside Duluth) or St. Louis County Voter Registration (726-2385) (outside Duluth).

Designations for officials:
(e) = elected officials
(a) = appointed officials

Numbers in parentheses (2002) indicate the year that an elected official stands for re-election. The terms usually end in January of the following year.

 

City of Duluth Officials (e - 4 year terms)

Mayor - Don Ness  (e, 4 year term)  (2015)
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 403
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5230  fax: 218-730-5924
email:  dness@duluthmn.gov

Chief Administrative Officer - David Montgomery
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5370  fax: 218-730-5904
email: dmontgomery@duluthmn.gov

Chief Financial Officer - Peg Spehar
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 106
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5044  fax: 218-730-5919
email: pspehar@duluthmn.gov

City Attorney - Gunnar Johnson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 410
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5490  fax: 218-730-5918
email:  gjohnson@duluthmn.gov

 


City Council (e)

330 City Hall
Duluth, MN 55802
Web: http://www.duluthmn.gov/city-council/city-councilors/
e-mail: council@duluthmn.gov  (to e-mail all councilors at once)

Zack Filipovich - Councilor (2017)
Councilor at large; Precincts 1-36
219 S. 21st Ave. E.
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-393-0212  fax: 218-730-5923
email: zfilipovich@duluthmn.gov

Jay Fosle - Councilor (2015)
5th Council District; Precincts 30-36
323  103rd Ave. W.
Duluth, MN 55808
tel: 218-626-3584 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: jfosle@duluthmn.gov

Sharla Gardner - Councilor (2015)
3rd Council District; Precincts 14-22
330 City Hall
411 W. 1st St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5353 (w)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: sgardner@duluthmn.gov

Howie Hanson - Councilor (2017)
4th Council District; Precincts 23-29
102 S. 29th Ave. W.; Ste. 206
Duluth, MN  55806
tel: 218-730-5354;  fax: 218-730-5923
email: hhanson@duluthmn.gov

Jennifer Julsrud - Councilor (2015)
1st Council District; Precincts 1-7
920 Woodlawn St.
Duluth, MN 55804
tel: 218-464-8527 (h) (preferred method of contact);  fax: 218-730-5923
email: jjulsrud@duluthmn.gov

Linda Krug - Councilor (2015)  (President)
Councilor at Large; Precincts 1-36
P.O. Box 92
Duluth, MN 55801
tel:218-310-1628 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: lkrug@duluthmn.gov

Emily Larson - Councilor (2015)  (Vice President)
Councilor at Large; Precincts 1-36
1331 E. 11th St.
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-728-3375 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: elarson@duluthmn.gov

Barb Russ - Councilor (2017)
Councilor at large, Precincts 1-36
322 N. 22nd Ave. E.
Duluth, MN  55812
tel: 218-310-2065 (h)  fax: 218-730-5923
email: bruss@duluthmn.gov

Joel Sipress - Councilor (2015)
2nd Council District; Precincts 8-13
2023 E. 4th St.
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-349-6630  fax: 218-730-5923
email: jsipress@duluthmn.gov

 


Jeffrey Cox, City Clerk - Secretary of Council
330 City Hall
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5740  fax: 218-730-5923
web: www.duluthmn.gov/clerk/index.cfm
email: jcox@duluthmn.gov

 


Administrative Department Heads (a)

City of Duluth website: www.duluthmn.gov

Business and Community Development - Christopher Eng
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5310  fax: 218-730-5904
email: ceng@duluthmn.gov

Chief Information Officer (MIS) - (vacant)
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210A
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5170  fax: 218-730-5916
email:  

Finance - Peg Spehar
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 106
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5044  fax: 218-730-5919
email: pspehar@duluthmn.gov

Fire Department - John Strongitharm, Chief  
#1 Firehall
602 W. 2nd St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4390  fax: 218-723-3282
email:  jstrongitharm@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/fire/index.cfm

Police Department - Gordon Ramsay, Chief  
2030 N. Arlington Ave.
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 218-730-5020  fax: 218-730-5910
email:  gramsay@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/police/index.cfm

Public Administration - Jim Filby Williams
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 322
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4491  fax: 218-723-3593
email: jfwilliams@duluthmn.gov

Public Works and Utilities - Jim Benning
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 200
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5105  fax: 218-730-5907
email:  jbenning@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.comfortsystems.ws

 


City Offices (a)

City Hall Information - 730-5000

 

Assessor - moved to County Office

Auditor - Wayne Parson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 107
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5450  fax: 218-730-5919
email:  wparson@duluthmn.gov

Budget Manager - Peggy Spehar
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5460  fax: 218-730-5919
email:  pspehar@duluthmn.gov

Building Official/Building Safety - Daniel W. Nelson
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5163  fax: 218-730-5901
email:  dwnelson@duluthmn.gov

Business Resources - Heidi Timm-Bijold
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5324  fax: 218-730-5904
email:  HTIMM@duluthmn.gov

City Clerk - Jeffrey Cox
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 330
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5740  fax: 218-730-5923
web: www.duluthmn.gov/clerk/index.cfm
email: jcox@duluthmn.gov

City Engineer - Cindy Voigt
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 202
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5071  fax: 218-730-5907
email:  cvoigt@duluthmn.gov

Community Development - Keith Hamre
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 407
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5480  fax: 218-730-5915
email:  khamre@duluthmn.gov

Construction Services and Inspection - Wendy Rannenberg
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 210
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5269   fax: 218-730-5901
email:  wrannenberg@duluthmn.gov

Human Resources - Audra Flanagan
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 313
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5210  fax: 218-730-5906
email:  aflanagan@duluthmn.gov

Human Rights Officer - Bob Grytdahl
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 410
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-730-5630  fax: 218-730-5918  
email:  bgrytdahl@duluthmn.gov

Libraries - Carla Powers
Main Library
520 W. Superior St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4225  fax: 218-723-3822
email:  cpowers@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthlibrary.org

Maintenance Operations - Kelly Fleissner
4825 Mike Colalillo Dr.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-730-4491 fax: 218-723-3593
email:  kfleissner@duluthmn.gov

Parks and Recreation - Kathy Bergen
411 W. 1st St.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-4309
email:  kbergen@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/parks/index.cfm

Planning - Keith Hamre, interim
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5580  fax: 218-730-5904
email:  khamre@duluthmn.gov
web:  www.duluthmn.gov/planning/index.cfm

Purchasing Agent - Dennis Sears
100 City Hall
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5340  fax: 218-730-5921
email:  dsears@duluthmn.gov

Treasurer - Brian Hansen
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 105
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5054  fax: 218-730-5917
email: bhansen@duluthmn.gov

Workforce Development - Don Hoag
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 332
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5770  fax: 218-730-5952
email: dhoag@duluthmn.gov

 

Branch Libraries and City Authorities

Branch Libraries:

West Duluth Branch Library
5830 Grand Ave.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-730-4280

Mount Royal Branch Library
105 Mt. Royal Shopping Circle
Duluth, MN 55803
tel: 218-730-4290

Duluth Airport Authority
Thomas Werner, Executive Director
4701 Grinden Dr.
Duluth International Airport
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 727-2968  fax: 727-2960
email:  daa@duluthairport.com
web:  www.duluthairport.com

Duluth Economic Development Authorita (DEDA)
Christopher Eng
City Hall
411 W. 1st St., Room 402
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-730-5310  fax: 218-730-5904
email: ceng@duluthmn.gov

Duluth Entertainment Convention Center
Dan Russell, Executive Director
350 Harbor Dr.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 722-5573 x203  fax: 722-4247
email:  drussell@decc.org
web: www.decc.org   or    www.duluthconventioncenter.com

Duluth Transit Authority
Dennis E. Jensen, General Manager
2402 W. Michigan St.
Duluth, MN 55806
tel: 218-722-4426  fax: 218-722-4428
email:  djensen@duluthtransit.com
web:  www.duluthtransit.com

Housing & Redevelopment Authority
Richard W. Ball, Executive Director
222 E. 2nd St.
P.O. Box 16900
Duluth, MN 55816-0900
tel: 218-529-6300  fax: 218-529-6344  tdd:  218-529-6321
email:  info@duluthhousing.com
web:  www.duluthhousing.com

Seaway Port Authority
Adolph N. Ojard, Executive Director (retiring 9/30/13); Vanta E. Coda II (effective 10/1/13)
1200 Port Terminal Dr.
Duluth, MN 55802
tel: 218-727-8525   fax: 218-727-6888
email:  aojard@duluthport.com
web: www.duluthport.com

Spirit Mountain Recreation Area
Brandy Ream, Executive Director
9500 Spirit Mtn. Place
Duluth, MN 55810
tel: 218-624-8501  fax: 218-624-0213
toll free: 800-642-6377
email:  bream@spiritmt.com
web: http://www.spiritmt.com

 

Independent School District #709

ISD #709 home page : www.isd709.org

Historic Old Central High School (Central Administration Building)
215 N. 1st Ave. E.
Duluth, MN 55802
218-336-8700


Superintendent of Schools - William Gronseth (a)
tel: 218-336-8752  fax: 218-336-8773
email:  william.gronseth@duluth.k12.mn.us

Assistant Superintendent - Ed Crawford (a)
tel: 218-336-8739  fax: 218-336-8776
email:  eddie.crawford@duluth.k12.mn.us

Business Services - Bill C. Hanson, Chief Financial Officer (a)
tel: 218-336-8704  fax: 218-7336-8773
email:  bill.hanson@duluth.k12.mn.us

Human Resources - Tim Sworsky, Senior Human Resources Manager (a)
tel: 218-336-8718  fax: 218-336-8725
email:  tim.sworsky@duluth.k12.mn.us

Facilities - Kerry Leider, Property & Risk Manager (a)
tel: 218-336-8907  fax: 218-336-8909
email:  kerry.leider@duluth.k12.mn.us

Special Education Services - Laura Fredrickson, Special Services Director (a)
tel: 218-336-8740  fax: 218-336-8775
email:  laura.fredrickson@duluth.k12.mn.us

Technology - Bart Smith, Technology Manager (a)
tel: 218-336-8754  fax: 218-337-8772
email:  bart.smith@duluth.k12.mn.us

 


Duluth School Board Members (e - four year terms)

To find your school board district, call the School Board (336-8752), the Duluth City Clerk's Office (730-5500) or the Duluth Public Library (730-4200/option 5).

To email all board members at once: schoolboard@duluth.k12.mn.us


Annie Harala - (At Large, 2017)  
(District includes Duluth precincts 1-30, 32-34*)
1129 N. 7th Ave. E.
Duluth, MN 55805
tel: 218-310-8993  fax: 218-336-8773
email:  annie.harala@duluth.k12.mn.us

Art Johnston - (4th District, 2017)
(District includes Duluth precincts 21, 26-30, 32-34*)
37 N. 93rd Ave. W.
Duluth, MN 55807
tel: 218-626-1997  fax: 218-336-8773
email:  arthur.johnston@duluth.k12.mn.us

Rosie Loeffler-Kemp - (1st District, 2017)
(District includes Duluth precincts 1, 2, 4-7 & outside city limits)
2902 Bald Eagle Trail
Duluth, MN 55804
tel: 218-525-6878  fax: 218-336-8773
email: rosalie.loeffler-kemp@duluth.k12.mn.us

Mike Miernicki - (At Large, 2015)  (Chair)  
(District includes Duluth precincts 1-30, 32-34*)
1415 Minneapolis Ave.
Duluth, MN 55803
tel: 218-428-6606  fax: 218-336-8773
email: michael.miernick@duluth.k12.mn.us

Judy Seliga-Punyko - (2nd District, 2015)
(District includes Duluth precincts 3, 8-14)
1125 N. 40th Ave. E.
Duluth, MN 55804
tel: 218-525-4688  fax: 218-336-8773
email: judy.seliga-punkyo@duluth.k12.mn.us

Harry Welty - (At Large, 2017)
(District includes Duluth precincts 1-30, 32-34*)
2101 E. 4th St.
Duluth, MN 55812
tel: 218-340-5197  fax: 218-336-8773
email: harry.welty@duluth.k12.mn.us

Bill L. Westholm - (3rd District, 2015)  (Vice Chair)
(District includes Duluth precincts 15-20, 22-25)
2908 Talmadge Circle
Duluth, MN 55811
tel: 218-727-3371  fax: 218-336-8773
email: william.westholm@duluth.k12.mn.us

 

* Precinct 33 is in ISD #704 (Proctor)

 

Page Last Modified: 6/30/2014
©2014 Copyright Duluth Public Library. All Rights Reserved.